5 Ways to Use Texas Toast

Texas Toast is one of my favorite breads to use in cooking. Because of its thickness, it is more versatile than the typical  bread slice. Bakery bread, baguettes or loaves that I cut don’t seem to be as easy to work with. Here are 5 of my favorite ways to use Texas Toast:

French Toast

Yummy. A great way to start the morning. Here is my own personal recipe:

To make about 10 pieces, mix 1 and 3/4 cup of milk with 2 eggs, 4 tablespoons of vanilla, 3 tablespoons of sugar, a pinch of salt and about 3 tablespoons of pancake mix (or corn starch). Mix all that up, and dip bread and fry on a skillet with butter. Cooking in a cast iron skillet does well for this, in my opinion. I made this for breakfast just today:

image

Garlic Bread

This goes well with lasagna, spaghetti or other American-Italian inspired dishes. If you bake a clove of garlic in butter then spread that on toasted Texas Toast, you have a tasty side to remember. I like to sprinkle a bit of salt and pepper on it as well to bring out the flavors.

Barbeque!

Texas toast is a great side for smoky meats. Couple some sliced onions, jalapenos and cheese – you have a tasty dinner. I frequently serve it with clod, one of my BBQ specialties shown below:

image

Grilled Cheese

Again a cast iron does well here to stack up a few slices of cheese on very low heat with light oil or butter on the bread to brown the bread and melt the cheese.

Good Sized Half-Sandwiches

Using Texas Toast for traditional lunchmeat sandwiches can make the half-size sandwich more satisfying. Sometimes I cut normal sandwiches in half for my young daughter, and that saves me time later. One half of the sandwich is dinner tonight, the other is lunch tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

