Trip Report: Fall canoeing and biking trip

Last month, I took a short trip canoeing and biking in Michigan and Canada. The weather was fair, but I made the best of it. Here is my trip report for the small trek:

Friday, October 23

I left Columbus right after dropping my daughter off to school, and headed north to Port Huron, MI. The drive was a little slow going, I had rain almost the entire way. I had lunch at Subway in Detroit – a must-have since Michigan Subway stores have the premium pickles, good luck finding them in Ohio. I arrived at my hotel, the Holiday Inn Express in Port Huron. It was a nice hotel, I’ve had nicer Express properties, but I am very loyal to Holiday Inn from all of my travels over the years. After checking in and changing clothes I headed North some more to try to throw the canoe in. I went all the way to Port Sanilac with hopes of dropping my canoe in Lake Huron, but the waves crashing on the breakers told me I should find another event.

I then traversed South a bit to Lakeport State Park, where I road my bike a few miles on the park and the surrounding roads. This was a good collection of fall colors, in spite of the cool weather and rain. I was prepared with outdoor gear, minimizing any discomfort.

I then returned to Port Huron and ordered Jet’s Pizza for dinner. That was a really good meal, hadn’t had that in a while. Then I went down to the business center computer and got online to do some blogging.

Saturday, October 24

The weather was cooperating much better today, and I got an early start for the big day. I enjoyed the free breakfast at Holiday Inn Express, then headed over to The Pinery in Ontario. This was a real jewel, the park was in good shape and the fall colors were great. The first thing I did was drop the canoe in and do the trail on the Ausable channel that they have running through the center of the park. Silly me forgot my camera, but this is the view I had:

The Pinery Provincial Park
Special thanks to Flickr member Shane.CA for this great photo

I put the bike in the canoe, then headed down the full length. I didn’t see too much wildlife, but the water was very clear and the peace and quiet were nice. At the end of the canoe trail, I went into bike mode and rode around the large loop that is the park. It was a great ride on a wonderful fall day. I packed up and then headed back, having a great view while crossing the Bluewater Bridge back into Michigan. The Bluewater bridge connects Sarnia, Ontario with Port Huron, Michigan.

Bluewater bridge
Thanks to Flickr member loozrboy for this non-loser shot of the bridge.

I then continued back home and had a good drive listening to sports radio for the day’s college football action, and made it home in time for dinner. Now I’m off to think about new destinations for a canoe and biking trip, probably bringing the whole family next time. Any ideas on where to go?

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] The current car, a 1999 Oldsmobile Cutlass is truly fine. I have 155,000 miles on it and know the car very well. I am aware of what it can and cannot do at it’s age, and it fared well on my recent trip to Canada. […]

    Reply

  2. Nice water. I would like to take my canoe out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

