Field Day recap of activities – day one

Today was the first day of the inaugural Gestalt IT Field Day. This invitation-only blogger events puts bloggers to tech companies here in Silicon Valley to preview existing technologies, get hands-on demos and engage in enriching dialog.

I arrived very late last night after working a full day in Ohio, that is a funny story actually. My flight was scheduled to depart Columbus at 5:23 PM. I totally forgot about the flight! So, at 4:30 I decided I better get to the airport! I arrived too late to get on the flight I was scheduled to depart upon. Luckily, Delta (my airline of choice) was able to put me on the next flight to Atlanta to then catch the same flight to San Francisco that I was ticketed. The issue was that the next flight created an 18 minute layover, it isn’t what is called a ‘married route’ in airline speak because it was too tight. I told the agent that I had my running shoes on, so let’s give it a try. The long of the short is that I made it to San Francisco after the mad dash for C to A in Atlanta. I got to the hotel, and needless to say – I slept very well.

Thursday started bright and early in the lobby of the hotel, the 15 Field Day attendees (or delegates as we’ve labeled ourselves) then headed to VMware’s headquarters in Palo Alto. What a beautiful facility, very tranquil and modern. Here is a shot of us chatting during breakfast after arriving:

Image 1

We then walked to another building, and I stopped to take a look at the tranquil setting. Here is a shot of one of the buildings on the main campus in Palo Alto:

Image 2

Once we arrived to one of the other buildings, our first session was ready to begin. Xsigo (see-go) was the first to present compelling content on virtualized I/O. I had a blog go live on Virtualization Review for my observations of the demo we had there. Then VMware presented on their challenges and successes delivering infrastructure for VMworld and for demonstrations of products, including a cool mobile rack. Lastly, we had a hands-on demo creating virtualized I/O in a VMware vSphere environment. We then took a break for lunch at VMware Palo Alto as well. VMware has a good caterer, tasty stuff.

For the afternoon session, 3PAR was the facility host and they presented on their storage systems. Here are Robin Harris and Greg Ferro entering the building:

Outside of 3PAR

We should have told them that the crowd includes some storage gurus, I’m not so much a storage expert but enjoyed the engaging dialog. Symantec then presented on virtualized storage software management, include the storage reclaim API. One takeaway is that Veritas Storage Foundation Basic edition is free for limited configurations.

Then we proceeded to the Computer History Museum for a reception with the Field Day attendees and sponsors. This was a real treat, we had tasty eats and drinks there while mingling. Here are some photos of the evening.

Steve Foskett addressing the attendees, presenters and sponsors:
Foskett

Attendees, presenters and sponsors listening to Steve Foskett:
Reception

Me outside of the entrance to the Computer History Museum:
Picture 018

Stay tuned for more information tomorrow. I should have more blog posts and definitely more coming on the Twitter feed.

5 responses to this post.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rick Vanover and Silicon Valley PR, Carlo Costanzo. Carlo Costanzo said: RT @RickVanover: New blog post: Gestalt IT Field Day – day one recap http://bit.ly/PhUjx #TechFieldDay […]

    Reply

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by RickVanover: New blog post: Gestalt IT Field Day – day one recap http://bit.ly/PhUjx #TechFieldDay…

    Reply

  3. […] Field Day recap of activities – day one […]

    Reply

  4. I highly enjoyed reading your article, keep on making such interesting stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

