Shaking a Very Bad Habit – Diet Soda

For those of you who know me, I historically have been a pretty substantial soda consumer. Drinking four to six liters a day of diet soda was a normal day. Take my recent trip to VMworld, I even checked a 12-pack of soda in as luggage so I could make it to and from the event from the hotel:

image

I had to check this in as luggage so I would “be okay” to and from. It sounds silly because it is. Recently, I just decided I was done with drinking so much of the stuff. I don’t drink coffee in the morning, but will still drink a caffeinated diet soda (24 ounces or less) as my morning boost. For almost all situations, I have replaced diet soda with water. Tap water at that. I find myself refilling a bottled water container countless times a day with tap water and being satisfied. I had some headaches at first likely due to the large drop in caffeine intake, but am now feeling much better. I also go to sleep easier, sleep better, and wake up easier as well since I have stopped consuming so much diet soda.

So, I think I will have to shed my nickname! During a trip to Venezuela for Aerocav at one of my previous jobs, my good friend Ricardo called me “Coca Loca”. I had a nickname for the stuff as well, “Luscious Brown” when referring to Diet Pepsi, Diet Dr. Pepper, Coke Zero, etc.

image My subtle separation from acesulfame potassium and aspartame has done me well. I am saving a lot of money. Each week at the grocery store, literally I could not fit any more soda in my cart (8 12-packs of 12 ounce cans and 4 6-packs of 24-ounce bottles) and I still would have to get more mid-week. My wife hardly drinks any, so it was all me. I am saving a lot of money as well by replacing it with good old tap water. Now, let’s just hope I don’t relapse!

Leave a Reply

