Trip Report: Chilly Fest

Last weekend, we took a quick trip up to Port Huron, Michigan, for the Chilly Fest winter festival. We couldn’t allocate too much time to the event as I had to be in Cincinnati for a work-related event late Saturday night. But, I had a good winter getaway! Winter is my favorite season, though it was somewhat warm for January I enjoyed myself.

Friday January 22

We left Columbus about 6:30 PM and headed straight North! We stayed in Sarnia, Ontario because the hotels were all full. When we arrived, I was given a room with a single king size bed. I asked if we could get a two bed hotel room, but was told there were none available. Apparently there was a hockey tournament (Silver Sticks) and a Taekwondo event in the area. I’d lose both of those fights – so I passed on arguing for a room.

When we got in the room, my daughter had fun. Here she is chilling in the hotel:
image

Saturday January 23

I started the day with a swim in the hotel pool. My daughter went with me and decided a “piggy-back swim” was really fun. So, I got a good workout and she was toured around the pool for what felt like a forever!

After the quick swim, I went back to the room and headed out to get breakfast. I went to a local Tim Horton’s there in Ontario and can definitely tell the difference between the Canadian and US stores. I believe the US stores receive frozen donuts, the Canadian ones still bake in-store. Clear difference, far better there with in-store baked products.

We then got ready for Chilly Fest, crossing back into the US at the Blue Water Bridge. Funny part here… My car has the new Ohio license plate, shown below:

image The US customs agent made me STOP in the middle of the lane before I got to the booth, yet was after the place where I was supposed to stop. They asked me about it and I said it was the new Ohio plate. We then crossed back into Michigan and headed over to Water Street to go to Chilly Fest.

The first thing we did is take a carriage ride to the Knowlton Ice Museum. It sounds incredibly boring, but unless you like both history and cold stuff – it is. I actually enjoyed it. I had no idea of the history of the ice harvesting industry. For a period from 1860-1930 or so, it was one of the top 10 industries in the US. Here is a photo of an ice truck taken in the museum:

image We then took a horse carriage ride back over to the main part of Chilly Fest. We went in and saw some snowmobile drag racing. Wow. I could watch that all day! I don’t know how fast they were going, but it was something to see. Here is the best shot I could get:

image

After watching that for a bit, we went into the tents to check out the stuff  inside. There, we got a quick snack/lunch for our daughter and then… the bouncy things. This is the view my wife and I had for a while while she bounced:

imageWe then headed out and returned back to Ohio. I caught a good view of the waterway between Lake Huron and Lake St. Clair. I was in awe just watching the ice chunks flow by. That was really cool:

imageWe made good time heading home. I then headed to Cincinnati for a work topic and my wife and daughter were at home for the night.

Not sure if we’ll go to Chilly Fest again, but I’m always on the prowl for a good winter festival.

Technorati Tags: ,,,
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by pow on January 29, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    It isn’t warm now! Glad you guys had fun!

    Reply

  2. Yeah, ironically the cold came back!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Connie Cravens on February 5, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Love this! Oh- and I definitely want a Fallasburg Taco sometime:)

    Reply

  4. Yeah, the tacos are great. I’ll make them next time you are up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

