Lenovo ThinkCentre M75e – Part I

Recently I was invited to participate in an evaluation of  a new desktop from Lenovo, the ThinkCentre M75e. Today, the system arrived and I’m going to start the somewhat overdue task of reconfiguring the Rickatron Lab to accommodate another system. It is overdue as I want to keep the server components in the basement and put myself in a more comfortable setting upstairs.

image

This will be an interesting evaluation for me. Primarily because I consider endpoint devices disposable. I have the following PCs and laptops in the house (prior to this system):

  • One $300 Dell PC, purchased as a holiday special right after Thanksgiving in 2008
  • One $375 Compaq notebook, purchased as a back to school special in 2009
  • Three used Dell laptops that I purchased for $25 each

Before I go any further, it is important to mention that this evaluation is governed by my official blogger disclosure.

It is ironic, as I go to my fancy blogger day events sporting my 3 or 4 year old laptops and tout the fact that I only paid $25 for the devices. I don’t care if I lose it as I’ve protected my data and there is no investment. The Apple crowd look at me funny.

Enter the Lenovo evaluation invitation…

No, I’m not changing careers to PC Support; but what I am going to do is check out this device as a business endpoint computing device over the next few months. It arrived today and I have it partially ready to go. I have a networking project as I want to have a hard wire connection to the lab downstairs, and I’m going to tackle that when all of the components arrive.

The ThinkCentre series of desktops is complimenting product to the popular ThinkPad series of laptops. Having worked in PC Support nearly a decade ago, I do remember their very well constructed bodies and loyal user base. In 2005, IBM moved the endpoint computing devices (notebooks, laptops) to Lenovo. Lenovo now is a full-line offering, including open system servers.

The ThinkCentre M75e is a new model and touts the following specs:

-Preinstalled Windows 7 Professional x64: So Far, so good on using the OEM build
-4.0 GB of RAM, the model has a minimum configuration of 1 GB, with a max of 16 GB
-It uses the faster 1333MHz DDR3 RAM, that’s pretty cool as it’s what I buy for servers
-7200 RPM 500 GB Hard Drive, SATA
-AMD Athlon II X4 640 processor at 3.00 GHz

*Click here to view the full spec sheet.

So far, I’ll say that this is the most capable desktop or notebook system I’ve ever used. I do invest in a very capable system for the server and storage in the lab, with the logic that if I need compute power; I’d do it there.

I’ve never been one to play computer games or process much in the way of multimedia, primarily as I’ve never had a capable system.

I’ll post more on this system as I use it and post comments on the experience for this system as it would suit a typical enterprise desktop.

Leave a Reply

