Checkpoints in SCVMM vs. Snapshot in Hyper-V

I’ll spare you the details, but I’m finally getting around to learning more about Hyper-V. One of the first sticking points I’ve seen is that System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2008 R2 (SCVMM) refers to a term called a checkpoint. What’s a checkpoint I asked?

This TechNet article refers to a virtual machine checkpoint as follows:

What Is a Checkpoint?

Each checkpoint saves the state of each virtual hard disk that is attached to a virtual machine and all of the hard disk’s contents, including application data files.

image I’ll admin that I’m a VMware guy; but that sounds a lot like a snapshot! Further, the Hyper-V definition of a snapshot from this TechNet article defines as follows:

What are virtual machine snapshots?

Virtual machine snapshots capture the state, data, and hardware configuration of a running virtual machine.

At face value; this may seem to be thoroughly confusing. I raise the motion that it is indeed thoroughly confusing. The SCVMM management stack may give more options on “what to do” with a checkpoint, hence the more sophisticated and graduated term. But, to the everyday administrator; this is confusing.

As I learn more about this topic; I’ll share what I can – but stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

