New recipe: Mustard BBQ Brisket

When I heard of this, I was skeptical to say the least. But, it came from a trustworthy source so I thought I would give it a whirl.

Before I go into this recipe, let’s get one thing straight. There are two ways to do any type of barbeque: with smoke and without smoke. Basically, are you a sauce fan or not? I do like sauce, but I also like smoke. This is a sauce BBQ recipe, so smoke purists take heart. This is a good winter, in-kitchen, BBQ recipe.

Ingredients:

  • One whole brisket
  • large container of plain yellow mustard (I used French’s)
  • Pepper

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 225 degrees
  • Lather brisket with mustard and pepper “until it is yellow” as shown below:
  • image

  • Bake for 12 hours or so.
  • When completed, the brisket looked like this when I prepared it:

    image

  • At that point you can cut the brisket across the grain quite easily. This stuff was so tender; I couldn’t pick it out of the pan without it falling apart.
  • Here is the brisket cutting. Notice the threading, indicative of pulling apart quite easily:

image

  • I then added the sauce (Sweet Baby Ray’s Hickory Brown Sugar, of course!) in a bowl and it was ready to go!

image

Overall, this was a pretty good BBQ recipe. A couple of pros is that it doesn’t require any attention. When using a smoker, grill or other open flame; the labor requirement is high. I like smoke, however. I am curious if I added liquid smoke (including the homemade type) at the end instead of sauce if it would come out similar to smoking.

Believe it or not, there is no mustard taste (unless it is applied too thick; then there may be some underneath) or color.

If you are wanting to make an easy BBQ, try this!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lance Bechtel on May 16, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Covered or uncovered

    Reply

  2. Hi Lance! I cooked it uncovered.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ken Cline on May 21, 2011 at 12:02 am

    Yellow mustard = spice glue. I don’t know who came up with the idea originally, but I use it all the time to get a better spice coat on whatever I’m BBQing. Works great and doesn’t alter the flavor of the other spices.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rebecca Paden on October 3, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Fat side up or down? Or cut off?

    Reply

  5. Fat side up!

    Reply

  6. Oh, and I didn’t cut it off either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

