Caught my eye: Open-E DSS v6

There are so many software storage systems to chose from that can run on commodity hardware. Today, in the course of deleting all of my email; one caught my eye. It was a simple note that previous versions of Open-E DSS are going end of life.

image

I really didn’t care about some version of a software that I don’t use going end of life. But, I did ask myself, who the flip is Open-E and what do they make? As it turns out, it is another software storage system; but this seems to have slightly more features than the frequent players such as StarWind, FreeNAS, Nexenta and OpenFiler. Of the three, I like FreenNAS the best for Ethernet-based storage solutions. But, I’ve decided to check out Open-E and have started and evaluation of their free software. Some of the features of the free offering include:

  • Data and Volume Replication
  • Volume Snapshot
  • InfinBand support
  • Automatic iSCSI Failover and Automatic NAS (NFS) Failover for high availability
  • Remote Mirroring for disaster recovery
  • WORM (Write Once Read Many) support for digital archiving
  • NDMP (Network Data Management Protocol) support for universal backup
  • Synchronous Volume Replication over LAN (one to one)
  • Asynchronous Data Replication over LAN/WAN (one to many)
  • Windows 2008 Clustering support (Persistent Reservation SCSI-3)
  • Multiple interfaces, including 1Gb Ethernet, 10Gb Ethernet and Fibre Channel
  • Support for volumes larger than 16 TB

Sounds pretty tight, reading through the feature set it is sick how rich it is. Therefore, I’m going to check it out. This will show up on some of the upcoming TechRepublic blogs. Probably the Servers and Storage blog or possibly a step-by-step gallery to show a specific feature. Stay tuned.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Lack of deduplication and real HA kills this solution. Even free stuff ZFS based or StarWind have dedupe now. And DRBD active-passive shared IP cluster is *not* HA!

    Tom

    Reply

  2. Fair points, Tom and thanks for sharing here. IMHO, deduplication, especially on primary storage is not the end-all-be-all.

    In regards to HA, again fair points. I haven’t kicked the tires yet; but you’ve springboarded my blog topics! Cheers.

    Also, for the readers and my dutiful FUD-GUARD… Are you the Tommy Lo that works at StarWind? Disclosure matters here.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rick on May 25, 2011 at 3:50 am

    Seems like Tommy has limited knowledge about HA solutions. Maybe he is just trying to promote StarWind. I don’t know. But hey people! Go to Open-E site and check for yourself. I’ve been using their system for 2 years. It didn’t let me down even once. But I know how to use it. And I had a failover situation twice. My users didn’t even notice that!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mister Storage on May 25, 2011 at 4:21 am

    Hmmm… I’m looking for some deduplication system but I would not use experimental deduplication in my production environment. And as far as I can see on Starwind site, it is experimental😦 I’ll wait for something serious. My data is important.

    Reply

  5. Thanks @MisterStorage and @Rick for your comments.

    Reply

  6. Regarding HA, I got this via email from Open-E:

    In Open-E DSS V6 the “Heartbeat” – in conjunction with DRBD and a few other tools – is HA (autofailover). We have iSCSI and NFS failover. Of course, some developments are still in progress and some are finished but not yet released. The reason is, we do not want to implement something before we are entirely sure everything is absolutely right. Quality is our first priority – no compromises and experiments. The second thing is the price. We know that our software does not have all existing and possible functionalities – that is true. But we also know that Open-E surely provides a very good TCO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

