I did the unthinkable with a disk

Ok, this may sound scarier than it actually is; but literally one week after I went on Twitter and told Greg Schulz that I haven’t cloned a disk in over six years; I went yesterday and cloned a disk.

image

BUT, that’s not the unthinkable part. What I did was kinda funny. So, here’s the situation; I have access to an SSD drive. And I want to use it!

So, I used a disk clone tool to copy my entire notebook drive to an external USB drive. OK, fine enough, as my installation of Windows is fine; and I like the environment – no need to change. So, I started the clone process, and it took forever it felt (around 150 GB of data). So, then I did the unthinkable. I undocked my laptop from my docking station while the clone tool was running and put it in the trunk of my car. Drove to dinner. And then went home, all while continuing the same clone job. Oddly enough, it completed fine!

The job is restoring now. We’ll see how it goes..

Not as tragic as it may read, but it felt wrong just doing that to a computer. Smile

One response to this post.

  1. Needed to send you a little bit of note so as to say thank you once again regarding the pleasing opinions you have provided on this page. It was wonderfully open-handed of you to present freely all many of us would\’ve offered for sale for an e-book to earn some money on their own, chiefly given that you might well have tried it if you ever considered necessary. Those thoughts likewise served like a great way to be aware that the rest have similar dream similar to my very own to know the truth much more with reference to this problem. I believe there are many more fun opportunities in the future for many who read carefully your website.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

