Recipe: Hybrid homemade chicken tikka masala

So, I’ve started to take some interest in the crockpot. Figured I’d try a recipe for one of my favorites!  Here is the ingredient list to start:

  • Chicken: I used 2 breasts (bone in and skin on). I wish I had more meat, but that’s what I had.
  • White onion: I ran one onion through the mandolin.
  • Tomatoes: four tomatoes course chopped and put through a food processor.
  • Chicken stock: Small can of.
  • Tikka masala sauce: One jar of your favorite. Hence the hybrid moniker. I’ll prolly make one from scratch soon.
  • Garam masala: This is the core essence of Indian food. I applied some elements of whole garam masala, as well as some ground garam masala.
    • Whole: Season with some floating bay leaves ( I used two)
    • Whole: Cardamom pods, I used 5 or so green pods (picked them and leaves out later)
    • Ground: Earlier in the day, I ground some cumin, black malabar pepper, clove, green cardamom pods, a cinnamon stick and some dried garlic.
  • Throw *THE WHOLE THANG* in the crockpot:

image

This ingredient set didn’t need to go too long, so I went for 5 hours on high with this crockpot model. Once it was done, the goodness was rich and royal. I picked up the chicken breast and it fell apart so I just strung them out and went “chili style” with the chicken instead of traditional tikka. Here is the finished product, which I’m taking to lunch for the week!

image

Then I prepared some aromatic rice (I just added some cumin to the rice) and spooned the goodness on top! Further, I added a little heat with some ground garam masala on top.

A note… Once I was done with the crocking, I scooped some out and put it over rice right away. It was “OK”, but after it set for about an hour, off the heat, the flavor deepened and became “A++”. So, that’s how I rocked it and it was *GOOD*!

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’ll have to share my bosses crock-pot Reuben recipe!

    Reply

  2. The crockpot revolution! I’m down with it, please do share Josh!

    Reply

  3. Here ya go Rick:

    Corned Beef Instructions:
    1 Corned Beef package from the meat section @ Kroger (includes a spice packet)
    24 oz. – 2 cans of beer (your choice – I used Bud Light Lime)

    Open the meat package and drain the extra liquid. Place the brisket and the spices from the spice package in the crock pot. Add the beer. Cover and cook on low for 10-12 hours. Remove the meat and cover with foil and let it cool for 1/2 hour.
    Remove all of the fat. Slice against the grain and serve.

    Sauerkraut Instructions (being prep about 1/2 an hour prior to Corn Beef being ready):
    2 tbsp bacon grease
    1/3 cup grated carrots
    1/2 cup diced onions
    1/2 cup grated Golden Delicious apple
    2 tbsp brown sugar
    1 can sauerkraut (drained & rinsed, or juice and all – your preference)
    1/4 cup water (if you decide to drain & rinse the sauerkraut)

    Saute the carrots and onions in bacon grease until tender. Add sauerkraut, apple, brown sugar (and water if used). Cover & simmer on low heat for 1/2 hour. Uncover and simmer for 5 – 10 minutes more, or until all liquid evaporates.

    Assemble Reuben

    Rye Bread
    Corned Beef
    Sauerkraut
    Swiss Cheese
    Thousand Island Dressing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

